Hon, Mr. Justice Douglas Charles Abbott (Appointed July 1, 1954)
Hon, Mr. Justice Ronald Martland (Appointed January 15, 1958)
Hon, Mr. Justice Wilfred Judson (Appointed February 5, 1958)
Hon, Mr. Justice Roland A. Ritchie (Appointed May 5, 1959)
Hon, Mr. Justice Emmett M. Hall (Appointed November 23, 1962)
Hon, Mr. Justice Wishart Flett Spence (Appointed May 30, 1963)
Hon, Mr. Justice Louis-Philippe Pigeon (Appointed October 6, 1967)
Hon, Mr. Justice Bora Laskin (Appointed March 19, 1970).

Federal Court of Canada. The Federal Court of Canada was constituted by Act of the Parliament of Canada under Section 101 of the British North America Act, 1867, which, after authorizing the creation of the Supreme Court of Canada, confers on the Parliament of Canada authority to constitute other courts for the better administration of the laws of Canada. The Federal Court of Canada is a court of law, equity and admiralty and it is a superior court of record having civil and criminal jurisdiction (Sect. 3 of the Act). It was established in 1875 as the Exchequer Court of Canada, which it replaced in December 1970 (SC 1970-71, c.1).

The Court has two divisions called the Federal Court – Appeal Division, and the Federal Court – Trial Division. The Appeal Division may be called the Court of Appeal or Federal Court of Appeal (Sect. 4 of the Act). The Court of Appeal consists of the Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Canada and three other judges. The Trial Division consists of the Associate Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Canada and seven other judges. Every judge is an ex officio member of the Division of which he is not a regular member (Sect. 5). In addition to the establishment of full-time judges, an added capacity to cope with the purely judicial work of the Court is provided by the authority to invite retired federally appointed judges to act as Deputy Judges of the Court (Sect. 10). This authority extends also to federally appointed judges who are still in office, but only with the consent of the appropriate Chief Justice or Attorney General. Former District Judges in Admiralty are also Deputy Judges of the Court and their services can be utilized on a limited basis (Sect. 60(3)).

Provision is also made in the Act for quasi-judicial officers called Prothonotaries (Sect. 12). Their duties are defined by the Rules and may be of a judicial nature (Sect. 46(1) (h)). In addition to being taxing-masters, they can, subject to supervision by the Court, deal with interlocutory work, and even take trials in minor matters as the Associate Chief Justice may find expedient in order to ensure the expeditious dispatch of the Court's business.

While all the full-time judges must reside in or near the National Capital Region (Sect. 7), each Division of the Court can sit any place in Canada and the place and time of the sittings must be arranged to suit the convenience of the litigants (Sects. 15 and 16). In addition, there is authority in the statute (Sect. 7(2)) for a rota of judges to provide for a continuity of judicial availability in any place where the volume of work, or other circumstances, makes such an arrangement expedient.

## Judges of the Federal Court of Canada as at December 31, 1972

Chief Justice, Hon. Wilbur Roy Jackett (Appointed June 1, 1971)

Associate Chief Justice, Hon. Camilien Noël (Appointed June 1, 1971)

Court of Appeal Judges: Hon. Jacques Dumoulin (Appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Arthur Louis Thurlow (Appointed June 1, 1971)

Trial Division Judges: Hon. Angus Alexander Cattanach (Appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Hugh Francis Gibson (Appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Allison Arthur Mariotti Walsh (Appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Roderick Kerr (Appointed June 1, 1971), Hon. Louis Pratte (Appointed June 10, 1971), Hon. Darrel Verner Heald (Appointed July 9, 1971), Hon. Frank U. Collier (Appointed September 16, 1971)

Deputy Judges of the Federal Court: Hon. Robert S. Furlong, Hon. James D. Higgins, Hon. Harold G. Puddester, Hon. George Eric Tritchler, Hon. Dalton C. Wells.

**Miscellaneous courts.** The Railway Act, 1903 (RSC 1970, c.R-2) established the Board of Railway Commissioners for Canada as a court of record; by the Transport Act, 1938 (RSC 1970, c.T-14) the name was changed to the Board of Transport Commissioners for Canada, and by the National Transportation Act, 1967 (RSC 1970, c.N-17) to the *Canadian Transport Commission*. This court exercises jurisdiction with respect to transport matters under the Railway Act and the National Transportation Act, and with respect to telegraph and telephone matters under the Railway Act. The Governor in Council is given jurisdiction to vary or rescind any order of the Commission and an appeal lies from the Commission to the Supreme Court of Canada on a question of jurisdiction or of law.

76